Give Us a Call: (844) 777-2400


Category: Cybersecurity Class Size: 30

CompTIA Security+ Certification

Teacher: Anthony Alicea

This globally recognized and industry-supported certification covers an audience’s knowledge and skills on the essential principles for Network Security and Risk Management. This certification is a benchmark for best practices in IT Security and is globally trusted to validate foundational, vendor-neutral IT security knowledge and skills. Obtaining the Security+ certification authenticates a student’s ability to secure a network and proactively deter hackers.

The course covers the following domains:

Network Security
Operations Security
Threats and Vulnerabilities
Application, Data and Host Security
Access Control
Identity Management
Security+ is government approved

CompTIA Security+ meets the ISO 17024 standard and is approved by the U.S. Department of Defense to fulfill Directive 8570.01-M requirements. It is compliant with government regulations under the Federal Information Security Management Act (FISMA).

Delivery Format

Instructor-Led Training


Eligible candidates for this exam are recommended to have:

CompTIA Network+
Two years of experience in IT administration with a security focus
About the Exam

90 multiple-choice questions
As of January 5, 2013, the Security+ exam includes performance-based
questions that require you to perform a task or solve a problem within a simulated IT environment
Passing score 750 (on a scale of 100-900)


Exam Renewal Policy

CompTIA Security+ certification holders are required to renew their credential every three years.Renewal can be achieved in two ways:

Take the most current version of the CompTIA Security+ certification exam
Earn continuing education units (CEUs) by participating in qualified activities, such as publishing an article or white paper, obtaining another industry certification, or attending a relevant conference or event. The CompTIA Security+ certification renewal requires 50 CEUs per renewal period.

Continuing Education (CE)

Certifications earned in 2011 and beyond will be designated "CE" to indicate the certification issubject to the renewal policy.Certifications achieved prior to 2011 (the non-CE version) will be retained for life and do not require a renewal. You may choose to or be required to enroll in the Continuing Education program.

Individuals Affected by the DoD Directive 8570.1

As of January 1, 2013, the Department of Defense (DoD) recognizes only CompTIA certifications with the CE designation. Certifications earned on or after January 1, 2011 will follow the standard renewal procedures outlined above. Certifications earned prior to 2011 will require enrolling in the Continuing Education program to update your certification to the CE version.

About Instructor

Anthony Alicea Software Developer

Newly married in Cleveland Ohio, Tony is primarily focused these days on trying to be a good husband. While inexperienced at that, he's quite experienced in all things web.

Stay Connected